2016 Digital Media Showcase

DMS_poster_ad8th Annual Digital Media Showcase was April 28th, 2016 at 6pm. Location: Otay Ranch High School’s Pavilion. Free admission.

It featured student work created in digital media classes throughout the Sweetwater Union High School District. Student work in photography, computer art, graphic design, video, and music technology. Industry professionals judged the submissions and awards are given to the top entries.

Flyer: DMS_Poster_by_Zachary_Atizado .pdf

Congratulations to all participants and winners.
Event Photographer: Ms. Carolynn Helton

2016 Best School News Production was KSOH News – Southwest High – Mr. Grau


2015 Band Pageant Highlights

15BPWatch 2015 Band Pageant Highlights by clicking on the video!  The 48th Annual Band Pageant took place at San Ysidro High School on Saturday, November 19, 2015.

Participating Schools: BVH, BVM, CPH, CPM, CVH, CVM, ELH, ELM, GRJ, MOH, MOM, MVH, MVA, NCM, OHS, ORH, RDRM, SOH, SOM, SUH, and SYH.



2015 Sweetwater Summer Theatre Institute presented In The HEIGHTS!

Sweetwater Summer Theatre Institute presented In The HEIGHTS! July 29, 30, 31, & August 1st, 2015 at San Ysidro High – Dr. Maida Torres-Stanovik Performing Arts Center.

Directed by Sharon Maley – Vocal Director: Tony Atienza – Music Director: Eric Mabrey – Choreographer: Valerie Ingram – Set Designer: Charles Batchman – Theatre Manager/Lighting Designer: Keith Davis – Sound Designer: Eusevio Cordoba – Accompanist: Barbara Schroeder. Congratulations to all participants for a fantastic show! IN THE HEIGHTS was presented through special arrangement with R&H Theatricals: www.rnh.com




Graduation Pomp and Rare Circumstances

Jeff_KoverWatch Graduation Pomp and Rare Circumstances by The San Diego Union-Tribune. A story about inspirational college graduate Brandon Kover. “He showed us that you can accomplish anything no matter what disability.” – Annette Kover, Brandon’s mom.

“I’m a proud dad” – Jeff Kover, Visual and Performing Arts Director.



2015 Digital Media Showcase

2015 Digital Media Showcase was Thursday, April 30th at 6:00 p.m. at Otay Ranch High School’s Pavilion. Over 50 flash drive awards were presented by VAPA Director, Jeff Kover and 6 iPad mini awards by the Tobacco Use Prevention Education program’s representative, Gale Marshburn. A special award was presented  by Manuel Rubio, Director of Grants and Communications to Olympian High’s KOHS News, teacher Mr. Exum for the Best School News Production of the year!


Congratulations to all participants and teachers for submitting over 400 outstanding works! Special thanks to our Digital Media Committee Chair Kelly Hamilton for organizing and hosting this event and to all the teachers that helped behind the scenes.

Thanks to our dedicated community judges for volunteering their time and supporting the arts in our schools.

  • DMS Music Judge: Mike Butler, Producer and accomplished recording professional.
  • DMS Photo Judge: Mike Menegus, Professional photographer.
  • DMS Photo & Video Judge: Jo Kamimura, Freelance documentary & videographer.
  • DMS Video Judge: Omar De Leon, SUHSD Web/Video specialist.
  • DMS Digital Design Judges: Glen Llorin, Graphic Designer/Illustrator &
  • Otto Lai, Computer Graphics and Animation Instructor.

Sweetwater Authority’s 2015 High School Photo Contest

Students in our community competed in the Sweetwater Authority’s Annual High School Photo Contest. Students won cash prizes and had their winning photography published in an annual calendar which is sent to residents in the Sweetwater Authority distribution area. Congratulations to SUHSD students for winning in all categories!

2015 Winners

Link to photos

Color Category:

  • First Place – “Rain and Sunrise” Gavin Arellano, Hilltop High School
  • Second Place – “Diamond in the Grass” Shiv Jariwala, Hilltop High School
  • Third Place – “Pouring” Ivory Knight, Hilltop High School.

Black & White Category:

  • First Place – “Thirst” Leticia Roybal, Hilltop High School
  • Second Place – “A Helping Hand” Capree Waters, Hilltop High School.
  • Third Place – “Simply Elegant” Shiv Jariwala, Hilltop High School.

Honorable Mention: 

  • “Droplets” Marco Torres, Sweetwater High School,
  • “Return to the Reservoir” Jonathan Boyd, Hilltop High School,
  • “Swiming in Gold” Xcaret Gomez, Hilltop High School, and
  • “Polluted Possibilities” Jonathan Boyd, Hilltop High School.

2015 Sweetwater Union High School District Art Show

Slide15Congratulations to all 2015 Sweetwater Union High School District Art Show award recipients and participants! Award reception was held Friday, March 13th, 2015 at South Chula Vista Library. Below are photos highlighting the gala reception. Opening remarks were made by VAPA Director Jeff Kover and Visual Arts Committee Co-Chairs Ms. Andrea Arroyo & Ms. Abigail Serafin. Among special guest were Interim Superintendent Ms. Sandra C. Huezo, School Board President Mr. Frank A. Tarantino, Mingei International Museum Education Outreach Manager Ms. Johanna Pope Benson, and Art Critic from San Diego Story Mr. Kraig Cavanaugh.Musical performance by Eastlake Middle School Orchestra Ensemble under the direction of Mr. Eric Hagen.Gala photos by Mr. Jauhn Hinkle.

Slide14 Slide13 Slide01 Slide02 Slide03_ Slide05 Slide06 Slide07 Slide08 Slide09 Slide10 Slide11 Slide12


2014 Sweetwater Summer Theatre Institute presents PIPPIN

pippin_jeffThe 2014 Sweetwater Summer Theatre Institute presented PIPPIN on July 31 – August 3 at Eastlake High School’s Ruth Chapman Performing Arts Center. The musical was performed entirely by Sweetwater District students and featured a live pit orchestra. Directed by Cynthia Stokes, Assistant Director: Sharon Maley, Vocal Director: Roxanne Ronacher, Choreographer: Valerie Ingram & Marla Navarrete, Music Director: Russ Sperling, Set Designer: Charles Batchman, Theatre Manager: Keith Davis, and Sound Designer: Eusevio Cordoba.



2014 Digital Media Showcase

2014 Digital Media Showcase was Thursday, May 1st at 6:00 p.m. at Otay Ranch High School’s Pavilion. 50 awards were given to the top entries and six ipad minis in collaboration with the District’s TUPE Tobacco Use Prevention Education! We had 400 submissions and 16 schools represented! Congratulations to all! The winning school news crew was Southwest High School KSOH Broadcast, teacher Mr. Steve Grau.

Here is a link to the complete award list.